1st Annual NIA Golf Tournament Winners Announced

September 17, 2015 15:19PM

The 1st Annual NIA Golf Tournament was a big success with 102 golfers and 25 teams participating.  Thank you to the participants for helping make our inaugural golf tournament a success. 

Congratulations to the winning team comprised of Roch Lafontaine of Desjardins, Sean Racine of A1 Flooring, Jeff Neill and Andrew Walker of DJB.  

Recognition for being “most honest” goes to the Modern Landfill team. 

The NIA would like to express our thanks and appreciation to the event sponsors:  Niagara Region, Benefit Partners, Hangups Sportswear & Promotional Products, Brand Blvd, Canadian Energy and Performance Mercedes-Benz, plus the 26 tee sponsors. 

The NIA would like to extend thanks and appreciation to the volunteers:  Michael Coholan, Larry Anderson, Misheck Mwaba, Jane Lockard, Gloria Spicer and Judi Johnstone, as well as Erica and Ashley of Manpower Services for providing the golfers with water all day.  

In addition, we would like to extend thanks to the Golf Committee who were instrumental in making the golf tournament happen: Adam Joon, Ken Snider, Larry Anderson, Domenic Ursini, Bruno Iafrate and Roy Timms. 

With proceeds from the tournament, the NIA presented Misheck Mwaba (Dean of Media, Trades and Technology) and Tim McLeod (Associate Dean, Head of Apprenticeship School of Trades) of Niagara College with a $500 bursary towards a returning student in Niagara College’s Welding Technician Program.     

Lastly, we hope you all had the pleasure of seeing Adam Joon of Niagara Region Economic Development and Rock Lafontaine of Desjardins sporting their identical bright coral shorts and robin egg blue shorts and baseball caps.  It was a sight to behold!!    

Next year’s NIA Golf Tournament will be held on August 29.  We look forward to another successful tournament.  Details will be announced in 2016, so stay tuned. 


NIA Board of Directors